ICC CWC 2023: England Names Their Final 15-Man Squad For Cricket ODI World Cup

The final 15-player squad has one change from the provisional squad announced earlier by the England Cricket Board.

<div class="paragraphs"><p>Source:&nbsp;X/@englandcricket</p></div>
Source: X/@englandcricket

Cricket World Cup 2023: The England Cricket Board on Sunday announced their 15-man final squad for the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup in India starting October 5.

England are the first out of the 10 teams to have confirmed their 15-player squad for the ODI World Cup.

The announcement comes after the recently concluded England vs New Zealand ODI series in which the Jos Buttler-led team defeated the visitors 3-1.

England have included Harry Brook into the 15-player World Cup squad at the expense of Jason Roy who was part of the 15-man provisional squad announced earlier.

Roy did not feature in any of the ODI matches against New Zealand.

England Men’s National Selector, Luke Wright, said: “We have selected a squad we are confident can go to India and win the World Cup.

“We are blessed with an incredibly strong group of white-ball players which was underlined by the performances in the series win against a very good New Zealand team," Wright said.

"The strength of the group has meant that we have had to make some tough decisions on world-class players with Jason Roy missing out and Harry Brook coming into the squad," he added.

England ODI World Cup Squad

Here is the final 15-player squad of the England Cricket team for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.

England 15-player squad for ODI World Cup 2023: Jos Buttler (captain), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes

As of September 17, the following teams have declared their 15-player provisional squads for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

  • England (final squad confirmed)

  • India

  • South Africa

  • Australia

  • Netherlands

  • New Zealand

  • Afghanistan

The remaining three teams which are Bangladesh, Pakistan and Sri Lanka still have around 11-odd days to announce their 15-player provisional squads. As per the rules set by ICC, all ten teams are required to announce their 15-player squads before September 28. Any replacements after this date will only be authorized post approval from the ICC board.

Cricket World Cup 2023: 7 Out 10 Teams Including India, Australia, England Have Announced Provisional Squads